Added on 27 June 2018

The judges for the 2018 Digital Preservation Awards are announced today as nominations for all 5 categories continue to be submitted for the most prestigious celebration of individuals and organizations who have made a significant contribution to securing our digital legacy.

DPA2016 Judges

As in 2016, the Digital Preservation Awards expert Judging Panel represents digital preservation interests from all sectors and from around the world.

Representing a range of interests from within the DPC membership and awards category sponsors, as well as the sectoral and geographical diversity of the Coalition's membership, the panel consists of:

  • Dave Tarrant, Open Data Institute;
  • John Sheridan, The National Archives;
  • Karen Sampson, Lloyds Banking Group;
  • Laura Molloy, Oxford Internet Institute;
  • Marcel Ras, Dutch Digital Heritage Network (DHN);
  • Natalie Harrower, Digital Repository of Ireland;
  • Neil Chue Hong, Software Sustainability Institute (SSI);
  • Neil Grindley, Jisc;
  • Neil Jefferies, Bodleian Libraries University of Oxford;
  • Paul Wheatley, Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC);
  • Sally McInnes, National Library of Wales;
  • Sharon McMeekin, DPC;
  • Sheila Morrissey, Ithaka;
  • Steve Daly, BBC;
  • Tim Gollins, National Records of Scotland;
  • William Kilbride, DPC.

Find out more about the 2018 Digital Preservation Awards Judging Panel

Following their first meeting, the panel will appoint a chair who will assume the responsibility to confirm the independence and integrity of the judging process.

Returning Judge Tim Gollins says: “Being part of the Digital Preservation Awards Judging Panel is officially the most fun you can have in digital preservation! I’m delighted to be a judge again this year and can’t wait to learn more about some of the fantastic digital preservation projects the community has been undertaking. If you are thinking of nominating your work, I wholeheartedly encourage you to get involved.”

The panel will select winners based on the following evidence: the original nomination; the detailed description of the project; the presentation from the finalist; question and answer with finalists. One criterion – Assessment of Quality by Peers – will be measured for finalists via an online poll of the DPC membership. The judges shall decide the weight given to this criterion before they have seen the results of the poll.

The Digital Preservation Awards remains open for nominations, with just over a month left to submit entries. This year the exciting process will culminate in a spectacular awards ceremony in Amsterdam, as part of an International Conference hosted by the Dutch Digital Heritage Network and the Amsterdam Museum on World Digital Preservation Day (previously International Digital Preservation Day) on Thursday 29th November 2018.

Enter before the deadline of 09:00 (BST) on Monday 30th July 2018

Find out more about the Digital Preservation Awards

Scroll to top