Added on 23 July 2018

The most significant celebration of achievements in digital preservation draws ever closer with just one week left to enter the Digital Preservation Awards 2018.

Send us your nominations and be in with a chance of being named the best in your field of expertise and receive recognition for all of your hard work – the deadline for entries is 0900 (UK) on Monday 30th July.

Entry to the Digital Preservation Awards is free and open to all organisations and individuals. Apply now!

 In 2018, five awards categories are offered as follows, alongside the DPC Fellowship Award:

  • The Software Sustainability Institute Award for Research and Innovation which recognizes excellence in practical research and innovation activities. The award includes a cash prize of £1000, a trophy and certificates.
  • The DPC Award for Teaching and Communications, recognizing excellence in outreach, training and advocacy. The award includes a cash prize of £1000, a trophy and certificates.
  • The National Records of Scotland Award for the Most Distinguished Student Work in Digital Preservation, encouraging and recognizing student work in digital preservation. The prize includes attendance at an international conference, a trophy and a certificate.
  • The National Archives Award for Safeguarding the Digital Legacy, which celebrates the practical application of preservation tools to protect at-risk digital objects. The award includes a cash prize of £1000, a trophy and certificates.
  • The Open Data Institute Award for the Most Outstanding Digital Preservation Initiative in Commerce, Industry and the Third sector, encouraging and recognizing the adoption of digital preservation tools and approaches in institutions which are not explicitly memory institutions. The award includes a cash prize of £1000, a trophy and certificates.

Please check the criteria for each of the categories and the rules of entry carefully before submitting your nomination to one of these categories.

DPA2016 All winners

The work of finalists and winners of the Digital Preservation Awards enjoys an elevated profile within the digital preservation community, with individuals and organisations often finding themselves in a much stronger position for further funding and future development.

This year the exciting process will culminate in an awards ceremony at the spectacular Amsterdam Museum Gallery which is filled with 17th Century portraits from the Golden Age. The ceremony will take place as part of an International Conference hosted by the Dutch Digital Heritage Network and the Amsterdam Museum on World Digital Preservation Day (previously International Digital Preservation Day) on Thursday 29th November 2018.

amsterdam gallery

Enter before the deadline of 0900 (UK) Monday 30th July 2018.

We are grateful that the Digital Preservation Awards is supported by some of the leading organisations in digital preservation:

DPA2018 All Sponsors 180720

Useful links:

Scroll to top