Added on 28 March 2018


The Digital Preservation Coalition and the Software Preservation Network invite you to register for their upcoming Software Preservation Webinar Series.

Jointly hosted, the series will examine several software preservation contexts including collection development, reuse cases, scholarly communication, scaling programs within and across organizations, and software preservation legal challenges.

Starting on 25th April and running for 6 weeks, each webinar will last 45 minutes and uses the Zoom web conferencing platform.  While each episode varies, the general structure includes:

  • Overview and introduction by the Research/Content Lead (5-10 minutes)
  • Introduction to guests (2 minutes)
  • Discussion between guests based on set of discussion questions (20-25 minutes)
  • Q&A with attendees (15 minutes)

All webinar episodes will be recorded and made available online after each event.

Series Overview:

EPISODE 1: Software Preservation Overview

April 25 // 8am PST - 10am CST - 4pm BST/CET

EPISODE 2: Software Collection Development

May 2 // 8am PST - 10am CST - 4pm BST/CET

EPISODE 3: Software (Re)Use Cases

May 9 // 8am PST - 10am CST - 4pm BST/CET

EPISODE 4: Software in Digital/Scholarly Communications

May 16 // 8am PST - 10am CST - 4pm BST/CET

EPISODE 5: Scaling Software Preservation and Emulation

May 23 // 8am PST - 10am CST - 4pm BST/CET

EPISODE 6: Software Preservation and Legal Challenges

May 30 // 8am PST - 10am CST - 4pm BST/CET

 

Sharing your experience and perspective is critical to understanding the hurdles in software preservation, to imagining future use of software-dependent data, and to forming a mutual understanding of where collective action is necessary to facilitate those future uses so we earnestly hope you will join the discussion.

The webinar series is free to attend and open to all.  Registration for each episode will close the Friday before the scheduled episode.

FIND OUT MORE AND REGISTER


Scroll to top